OtakuCMS

User Guide

User Registration

Go to the Dashboard location in your web browser. If there is no registered user, the Registration Form should be displayed. Enter a password and email address. And you may enter an optional display name to be greeted by when you login.

You should never see this Registration form again unless the .admin data file is deleted. The email address may be used to send a password reset link.

Login

If a user has been registered and you are not logged in when visiting the Dashboard, you should see the Login Form. Simply enter your password and email and press the button to Login.

When you are logged in, you should have access to all of the Dashboard features, also you will be able to edit the content of your web pages. To stop the content editor icons from being displayed on every page, you need to Log out.

Dashboard

On the Dashboard screen you should see the software version number displayed. If there is a newer version, you will be prompted to press an Upgrade Button. This will cause the new software to be downloaded and to replace your current version.

Following an upgrade, the page tries to refresh itself and prompts you to login again. It's a good idea to manually refresh the page too by pressing F5 on your keyboard. This is to ensure that any cached code is refreshed.

Pages

The page management screen allows you to add, delete, and rearrange pages. The order that pages appear in the list determines their order in menus. The depth of indent determines parent-child relationships.

The Plus icon is used to add a New Page. Then you would press the Pencil Icon to edit the Meta Data for the page.

The Title of the page is displayed in the web browser tab and is picked up by search engines so it tends to convey the topic of the page content.

The slug is used as part of the URL pointing to the page.

The description is sometimes picked up by search engines where the page content is not very descriptive such as say a photo.

The Page may be assigned to a Category where Categories have been created.

Tags may be applied to the Page for use by plugins that make use of them. Tags are like keywords related to the content in order to group pages that share the same tag.

Menu Placement allows you to decide which of the available Menus the page should be included in e.g. footer, sidebar etc.

An appropriate Template should be selected to contain the page content. The most common choice would be one of: page, post, or home. The current Theme defines the available Menus and Templates.

The Publication Date may be set. If it is in the future, then the page will not be included in Menus until after the publication Date/Time. You probably don't need to adjust the Date and Time unless the displayed value is important to you or you wish to schedule posts.

Visibility along with the publication Date/Time affects whether or not the page is included in Menus. Live enables it and Draft disables it.

In draft mode, the page may be viewed and edited by clicking on it's title in the Pages list. Unless the page is Live, there should be no links to the Page from Menus or the Site Map, effectively making it unknown to visitors and search engines.

Categories

Categories are managed in the same way as Pages except that their only Meta Data is the Title and URL Slug.

Images

Image management is done in the cloud using Cloudinary. The Images screen is used to enter your Image Upload Settings.

Images are uploaded from the Content Editor by clicking on the Image Icon. Then Images may be selected, cropped and uploaded. Then the image is inserted into the content and may be resized to fit.

Widgets

The available widgets are provided by the current website theme. Widgets may be replicated on multiple web pages and contain content such as sign-up forms and Ads. Basically, raw cut and paste code (Javascript and HTML).

Settings

Settings are values that may be stored and updated such as the Project Name, Project Notes, and the Theme. The available themes depend on what themes have been installed. At least there should be a default Theme available.

Logout

Pressing the Logout Button ends the logged-in status of the user and disables the content editor. Also any Admin-related tools will not be available from plugins either.

Editing Content

Here is a Demo and Instructions for the ContentTools Editor.